Are there any pharmacist jobs in California left for recent grads?

Hello!

***Again, thank you for reading and making purchases with my Amazon affiliated links! Also thank you for using my Fetch Rewards referral code Q8EMM !

Another app I also use is Ibotta. It’s similar to Fetch rewards except you get cash (once you hit $20. You can also get a gift card instead of cash too.) instead of a gift card (once you hit $3) back on selected purchases at selected retailers. Use my referral code, rroawap, and you can start saving real cash at all your favorite retailers. Sign up at https://ibotta.com/r/rroawap!

I use Fetch Rewards more. I can literally scan recent grocery receipts from any retailers (including Asian supermarkets) and earn points. Each receipt I scan, I get at least 25 points. Once I reach 3000 points, I can redeem those points for a $3 Target gift card. If you do the math, 25 points is equivalent to 2.5 cents!

From 11/20/19 – 12/17/19, Fetch Rewards have some “free” items listed like drinks, chips, and crackers. Free as in you buy and get points back. On 12/1/19, I went to Target. I got the Stacy’s Parmesan Garlic Pita Chips and Off the Eaten Path Veggie Crisps for $6.19 and got 6,190 points back. I can in turn redeem for two $3 target card or $5 to other retailers or save up for a $10 gift card (10,000 points). I highly recommend those chip flavors. On 12/14/19, I went to the 99 cents only store and got the 20 oz strawberry bubly sparkling water. I got 1024 points back. When I scanned the receipt, it didn’t read the sparkling water. If that happens to you, you can edit the text and have it reviewed.

From 12/5/19 – 12/11/19, Fetch Rewards have additional “free” items – Blueberry Cheerios Cereal and Peanut Butter Chex Cereal! On 12/7/19, I went to Walmart and got the Blueberry Cheerios for about $3.50. That one is delicious. I also got the 700 ml LIFEWTR for about $1.50. Nothing special about the taste of this water. I like the artwork on the bottle though. I got my money’s worth back in points for both items.

Oh BTW I also updated the Preparing for the CPJE post with additional resources, so be sure to check that out. ***

Ok, let’s get back to what I was going to talk about: Job Market in California.

A little about me. Even though I graduated before the inaugural class from new California Pharmacy schools like Chapman University, Keck Graduate Institute, West Coast University, and California Health Sciences University, it was still a challenge landing a pharmacist job in California. I did not work as a pharmacy intern during pharmacy school, and I also graduated from an out of state school.

The 2nd half of my last year of pharmacy school was stressful. I had no job lined up post-graduation. After what felt like 100+ applications and 10 interviews, in early May of my last year of pharmacy school, I finally secured a full time pharmacist job position with good benefits in California.

I can only imagine it being even harder each year (especially in Southern California) as there will be 15 pharmacy schools in California schools (with UCSF converting from a 4 year to a 3 year program and with Marshall B. Ketchum University, American University of Health Sciences, and potentially UC Irvine graduating their first class within the next 5 years) pushing out more and more pharmacists.

Here are a few tips to give you a competitive edge:

1) Network.
Be involved in school whether it is a research or community service project or a leadership position in an organization. Consider joining a fraternity and being involved. Pharmacy is a small world. The more people you know, the better.

2) Build good relationships with everyone you encounter. Treat every rotation or opportunity as an interview. Put your best effort forward during rotations. Again, pharmacy is a small world. You never know if this will directly/indirectly lead to a job opportunity.

3) Be open and flexible. If you’re like me with no pharmacy work experience and no connections in California, be open to relocating outside of the saturated areas of Southern California and floating where there is a need. Accepting even part time/per diem/contract can give you the experience you need to apply for a full time job when one opens up at the current or different company.

I’d like to hear from recent grads. What has your job hunting experience been like? If you’ve been able to land a job, what additional tips do you have to those who are still looking for a job?

Please let me know what topics you want to discuss next or any questions you may have.

If you are planning on purchasing any of the resources highlighted in this post or previous posts, please consider using the Amazon affiliated links to purchase. Also, Try Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial. It doesn’t cost you anything. It will help me fund the free content I create for you.

Thank you!

One thought on “Are there any pharmacist jobs in California left for recent grads?

Leave a comment